Timetable for the 2014 Tour de France

Timetable for the 2014 Tour de France

With less than 100 days to go until the Tour de France arrives in UK, fans across the country are planning where to best gain access the event. The 3 stages of this year’s Grand Depart will see areas up and down the country welcome the world:

tour-de-france-cyclistStage 1 – Saturday 5th July

It all gets underway with a 190km journey which will take the event from Leeds to Harrogate. Harewood, Otley, Burley-in-Wharfedale, Ilkley, Addingham, Skipton, Grassington, Kettlewell, Buckden, Kidstones, Aysgarth, Hawes, Buttertubs Pass, Muker, Leyburn, Reeth, Middleham, West Tanfield, Masham, North Stainley and Ripon are all on the Stage 1 route to gain exclusive access to the event..

Stage 2 – Sunday 6th July

Yorkshire’s exclusivity with relation to the Tour continues through to the second stage. The 200km route gives fans the opportunity to see the event travel through the Peak District; the country’s first National Park. Dense woodland, sweeping hillsides and gentle streams all populate this spellbinding area and are sure to provide a spectacular backdrop; ensuring a memorable second stage. Knaresborugh, Addingham, Keighly, Haworth, Hebden Bridge, Cragg Vale, Rippoden, Huddersfield, Holmfirth, Holme Moss, Langsett and High Bradfield are all included in Stage 2.

Stage 3 – Monday 7th July

The final UK stretch takes place over 159km from Cambridge to London.  Fans will be given the opportunity to experience the event in the nation’s capital city, as the Tour passes some of Britain’s greatest historical landmarks. Stage 3 will pass through The Round Church, Fitzwilliam Museum, King’s College Chapel, Great Shelford, Botanic Garden, Stapleford, Little Shelford, Hinxton, Little Chesterford, Saffron Walden, Finchingfield, rayne, Braintree, Felsted, Great Waltham, Chelmsford, Chipping Ongar, Epping, Epping Forest, Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park, Stratford,The 02, Royal Docks, St. Katherine’s Docks, Canary Wharf, St. Paul’s Cathedral, Tower of London, The Savoy Hotel, Middle Temple Hall, St. James Park, Houses of Parliament, The Mall, Buckingham Palace and Trafalgar Square.

tour-de-france-groupUpon leaving the UK, the Tour route moves on to mainland Europe; following an incredible 3,656 kilometre route (before ratification) through Belgium and Spain that incorporates 21 stages. Stages 4-21 are detailed below, as the event culminates in Paris:

Stage 4 – Tuesday 8th July – Le Touquet-Paris-Plage to Lille Metropole – 164km

Stage 5 – Wednesday 9th July – Ypres to Arenberg Porte du Hainaut – 156km

Stage 6 – Thursday 10th July – Arras to Reims – 194km

Stage 7 – Friday 11th July – Epernay to Nancy – 233km

Stage 8 – Saturday 12th July – Tomblaine to Gerardmer La Mauselaine – 161km

Stage 9 – Sunday 13th July – Gerardmer to Mulhouse – 166km

Stage 10 – Monday 14th July – Mulhouse to La Plance des Belles Filles – 161km

Rest day – Tuesday 15th July – Besancon

Stage 11 – Wednesday 16th July – Besancon to Oxonnax – 186km

Stage 12 – Thursday 17th July – Bourg-en-Bresse to Saint Etienne – 183km

Stage 13 – Friday 18th July – St. Etienne to Chamrousse – 200km

Stage 14 – Saturday 19th July – Grenoble to Risoul – 177km

Stage 15 – Sunday 20th July – Tallard to nimes – 222km

Rest day – Monday 21st July – Carcassonne

Stage 16 – Tuesday 22nd July – Carcassonne to Bagneres-de-Luchon – 237km

Stage 17 – Wednesday 23rd July – Saint-Gaudens to Saint-Lary Pla d’Adet – 125km

Stage 18 – Thursday 24th July – Pau to Hautacam – 145km

Stage 19 – Friday 25th July – Maubourguet Pays Val d’Adour to Bergerac – 208km

Stage 20 – Saturday 26th July – Bergerac to Perigueux – 54km

Stage 21 – FINALE – Sunday 27th July – Evry to Paris Champs-Elysees – 136km

 

 

Join our Wheelie Good Guys mailing list for more Tour de France and cycling news, as well as competitions, reviews and much more – you’ll be Wheelie glad you did!!!